Please tell us how we have done

This is your opportunity to tell us and other customers about your experience with Ginger Beer Golf Travel.

Your review will automatically be checked for authenticity (ie. not written by a robot or spammer) and then published here. Please note: Your email WILL NOT be published

We look forward to your feedback.

Submit your review

Create your own review

Ginger Beer Golf Travel
Average rating:  
 36 reviews
byDean Hicks onGinger Beer Golf Travel
Old Course

Just wanted to thank Chris for putting me in touch with fellow golfers who wanted to play the same dates. Thanks to Brett for getting us in the local ballot first try. The Old Course exceeded all expectations and was a round I will never forget. Thanks again Chris

You are very welcome Dean. I'm pleased my free BallotBuddy service helped you to find another single so that you could enter the ballot together. The Old Course ballot is a lottery and the chances of success are not especially high during the high season. However hooking you up with another single golfer who happened to be a local certainly increased your chances of success. So pleased you had a great round out there! All the best. Chris

byPage Chapman onGinger Beer Golf Travel
Golf with Ginger Beer

My wife and I wanted to take our grandson somewhere to play golf as a college graduation present. When thinking about where to go, we said "Why not Scotland". We came upon Chris's name out of the blue and since our grandson is just taking up the game and we are both in our 70's/80's (age--not score), he sounded like a perfect match for us.
We did it all by phone and e mail, and although I was pretty familiar with Scottish golf, I did not know of some of the courses that a beginner and two elderly might be able to play with caddies and buggies. In short order Chris had an itinerary together for us and off we went. His attention to detail was unquestioned and our whole trip went off without a hitch. Even the Scottish weather cooperated!!! Chris was an excellent communicator during the pre trip phase and even got in touch with us while we were there. E mails were answered promptly and I always felt I could get in touch with him at a moments notice.
In short I would highly recommend using Ginger Beer Travel for a future trip. Not everyone in this world is a single digit handicapper and it is great to play some lesser known course which, nevertheless, have all the beauty and challenges that you would expect from a Scottish golf experience.

Hi Page, Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write such a full and considered review. So pleased you and Barbara had the Scottish golf experience with your grandson that you were hoping for. It's great to receive your endorsement of my service. It's the same service I try to offer each and every client. Your responsiveness and attention certainly helped the planning process and made the itinerary a pleasure to arrange for you. Best Chris

byArthur Tang onGinger Beer Golf Travel
Ballot Tips for Old Course

Chris offered me valuable tips for the insight of balloting for a tee time of playing Old Course. A knowledgeable and kind professional in travel/golfing business.

Hi Arthur, You are very welcome! Thank you so much. Kind regards, Chris

bychristophe richard onGinger Beer Golf Travel
may 2019

Very nice week. Great house Casa Roble and golf courses with fast greens. A very good trip very well organised

Hi Christophe,Thank you so much for your kind words.You really played some great courses didn't you, with Valderrama your stand out round.It was a pleasure organising the trip for you. Your responsiveness and flexibility really helped the planning. With best wishes, Chris

byMarc Youngblood onGinger Beer Golf Travel
Unhappy customer

Lodging provided was subpar...this lodging was substituted for the original hotel which we paid for. Room had inadequate ventilation, a toilet that would not work, and extremely noisy. We were not happy with substituted accommodations, and the contract called for another hotel. After hearing of the change of units, I complained but got no feedback from Gingerbeer. I had to call the other "hostel", but they did not respond or contact GingerBeer.


Thank you for your review Mark. Again, I am truly sorry that your lodging did not meet your expectations. I provided you a considered, 2500 word response at the time addressing your post-stay complaint regarding the type of room you booked along with the issues you had during your stay and so I see no benefit in revisiting the matter here.But your statement regarding the lack of feedback to the lodging complaint made pre-stay surprises me as the hotel and I both emailed a reply to you independently on the same day that you raised the matter to address and allay your concerns.I strive to deliver exceptional customer service to all my clients, including timely and regular feedback, which I think is reflected in other reviews available here. I very much regret in this case, where there is a clear difference of opinion, if you feel I didn’t live up to those expectations. With regards, Chris

byDavid Mayor onGinger Beer Golf Travel
St Andrews

Well what can I say, Chris dotted every I and crossed every t, our trip was exactly as planned by Chris with excellent info and itineraries provided. Will definitely use this company again.

Thank you David. It was a pleasure to arrange the trip for you. I'm so pleased it worked out as planned. I'll be delighted to assist you again, perhaps if you fancy a trip down to Spain to play at Valderrama? Kind regards,ChrisTIP: If, like David, you are from the UK and are willing to take a bit of a chance with the weather, then April is a particularly good month for a long weekend in St Andrews, trying to get a time on the Old Course via the daily ballot. There is less competition compared with other months so your chance of success is greater, and green fees (in the first half of April at least) are less than in the high season.

byMichael Collins onGinger Beer Golf Travel
BallotBuddy Match

The BallotBuddy Match which Chris, from the Ginger Beer Golf Travel, has initiated is a super service. As a single golfer visiting St Andrews from South Africa I was fully aware of how difficult it would be to play the Old Course. However Chris paired me with other single golfers and we were then able to enter the Old Course Ballot. I was successful on three occasions playing with fellow golfers from around the world. Whilst it does not guarantee that you will be successful in the ballot, it provides an opportunity to enter. It is truly a super initiative which Chris offers at no charge. Thank you Chris.

Hi Michael,You are very welcome and thank you for your kind words. I'm really pleased that you were successful in the ballot. Three times out of three as well!BallotBuddy is indeed a new initiative from us here at Ginger Beer Golf Travel. We've felt for some time that it would be good to help single golfers who otherwise might have to wait in line for a chance to play the Old Course.I can't take credit for your ballot success, but it's great to think that I was able to help you get your name in the hat.Thanks again Michael and all the best.Chris

byKen onGinger Beer Golf Travel
Fantastic Planning, Assurance and Follow Up - St Andrews Trip

Dear Chris,

I don't think you could have done a better job that you already did for us!

We are a flight of 4 Asian golfers who played 4 games - Carnoustie, Castle Course, Kings Barn and Old Course late June/ early July 2018 and stayed at Fairways of St Andrews.

From the first call I made to Chris back in September 2017, I knew we were in great, safe hands. Chris is extremely patient and pays 100% attention to our needs. Never one to rush through planning, Chris would plan every single detail down to the bone and often took more than sufficient of his time to explain and address any of our concerns regarding the trip.

Coming from Asia, it did seem initially daunting to be wiring a huge sum as deposit for the tour but Ill guarantee you that Chris / Gingerbeergolf is one of the recognized/approved partners/agents that work the St Andrews Links - our flight being a proven case.

Throughout the 8 mths of planning and preparations, Chris was readily available on email and whatsapp and had no later than a 24hr response time, more like 12 hours given our timezone. Despite the numerous questions we had for him, Chris patiently addressed them one by one, till there was zero question left.

We are very impressed and pleased and would HIGHLY recommend Chris / Gingerbeer golf travel services for anyone at all who is planning a golf trip, especially to Scotland / St Andrews given that we were customers of his Scotland golf trip package.

Highly organized and an efficient planner, Chris would go through the detail to the bone (even to food allergies!) and that proved very important because this thorough process of planning by Chris meant that we have almost zero surprises when it came to the trip day!

Well done and once again as mentioned Chris, you are a true gentleman and scholar!
Ken and flight!

Well Ken, what can I say! Thank you so much for your review.It has been such a pleasure planning this special trip with you.Through drilling down to the details and your intelligent questions we left no stone unturned in discussing a wide variety of areas. By addressing the limited provision and restriction of buggy use for those with a medical need and/or seniors, restrictions on Old Course trolley use and what is an acceptable 'valid handicap card', I hope you arrived in St Andrews fully prepared and in a relaxed state, ready to enjoy play on some of the best courses in the world.A large part of the success of this trip has been down to your understanding, positivity and enthusiasm. I've really enjoyed helping you, and hope I can be of service again some time in the future.All the best Ken. CT

byMichael onGinger Beer Golf Travel
Awesome Golf Trip

I really don’t know where to start. I guess with a huge Thank You to Chris.

From the first contact with Ginger Beer Golf Travel everything went perfectly. Chris responded to that first email so quickly and from that point forward I knew we chose the right company to plan our Scotland golf trip. Chis was able to not only reserve tee times at the courses we wanted (St Andrews Old Course and Castle Course and Carnoustie) but also get perfect tee times in morning. Everything and anything we needed Chris took care of (and we had many request / needs). Even when we got to the hotel in St Andrews Chris was in constant contact making sure everything went smoothly and we were satisfied with everything. We traveled in mid April 2018 and the weather was perfect. Chris said he reserved the sunny 20c (65-70 degree) weather everyday as well...hmmm. However, Please be aware that the only thing I know Chris cannot help with is the many 3 putts you may experience like I did. :). We plan on going back to play a few other courses and will definitely use Ginger Beer Golf Travel. You should too. The customer service and knowledge are fantastic.

Thanks again Chris!

Hi Mike,Wow, what a review! Thanks so much for your kind words and commendations. Yes, we had many email exchanges, but that is all part and parcel of good trip planning. Thank you for your clear, quick and decisive communication which made the job much easier for me.I'm so pleased that the trip went well for you and your buddies, such that you'd like to come back in the future; but maybe bring a different putter with you next time!!! All the best, CT

byGiles Adams onGinger Beer Golf Travel
You organised our trip to Sotogrande beautifully

Chris. Thanks for everything. We had an EXCELLENT weekend. We will definitely be coming back your way again in the next few years. We thought that the location and format were superb. Great hotel, excellent weather and two splendid courses. What's not to enjoy. Thanks again for all of you hard work. Transportation company was spot on! Always on time with friendly drivers.Thanks again. Giles

Thanks Giles. It was a pleasure to organise your university golf buddy trip. Really pleased you enjoyed the combination of golf at San Roque Club with accommodation nearby at Hotel Club Maritimo, Sotogrande Port. I hope you will come back sometime and try some of the other great courses. All the best. CT.

Page 1 of 4: